|The Hammock House was
built in 1911 by E. G. Hammock and Letie Cowling Hammock, and stands
approximately 200 yards east of the site of the old McDermott home and
McDermott family cemetery, in which the founder of Dermott is buried.
Judge Hammock, born 2/12/1872, was an early mayor of Dermott and
served as Chancellor of his district for a quarter of a century.
The Hammock House was bequeathed to the Dermott Chamber of Commerce by
Captain John Hammock, the son of E.G. Hammock, in 1990, along with his
family photographs and WWII papers and memorabilia, among other
things. John Hammock was a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy,
achieved the rank of Captain during WWII, and was present when the
Japanese surrendered in the Mariana Islands to the United States. An
extensive collection of family photographs and Captain Hammockís WWII
service is catalogued in the Dermott Historical Museum.
The Chamber sold the home in the mid 1990s and recently repurchased it
for preservation purposes. The home can be rented for special
occasions, such as parties, weddings, rehearsal dinners, reunions,
meetings, receptions, and photography.
If you are interested in learning more about this home and the
fascinating Hammock family, the Dermott Chamberís web site will carry
For reservations and rates, call 870-538-5917.